Skip to main content

Santa Monica Parish Church

Church of Pan-ay or Santa Monica Church

The original church in Pan-ay was first established in 1774. A little over a century later, in 1875, a typhoon devastated that structure. It was reconstructed in 1884 and that is the church we see today. It is a fine example of the colonial Baroque style of architecture. Its walls of coral stone are three meters thick (about 9.84 feet). Renovations have been made in recent years to the roof and belfry which have suffered from termites and the ravages of time. Santa Monica Parish Church has been declared a National Historical Landmark by the National Historical Commission of the Philippines.

Main altar

In the aftermath of typhoon Haiyan/Yolanda in 2013, the church was damaged once again. The patches on the walls that you see in these images are part of the repairs made to make the structure safe and sound.

The floor of the church consists of terra cotta tiles accented by white marble and black slate tiles. The black and white accent on the center aisle leads the eye to the main altar, the floor of which is entirely done in black and white tiles.

Retablo (altarpiece)

The retablos on the right and left side chapels are ornate and exquisite. The image above shows the Virgin Mary (in the top center niche) about to be crowned by cherubs.  Directly below her is St. Anne, her cousin, and the mother of John the Baptist. Cherub's heads peep below the saints' niches. Two of the cherubs in the bottom band are playing the horn. A fine patina on the hardwood retablo accentuates the intricate carving of flowers and foliage.  I find these altarpieces to be the real treasures in the church.

Side door

There are several side doors which have a low clearance. They are more intimate and will accommodate only a few worshippers at a time. It certainly speaks of a bygone era. Definitely no rushing out after mass through these doors. 

St. Augustine

The statues St. Augustine and St. Thomas flank the main portal on either side.  Santa Monica looks out to the plaza and beyond from her niche above the main door. Eight sets of two pilasters each divide and frame the main façade into sections. A pediment crowns the top section.

Biggest bell in Asia

The Church of Pan-ay is renowned for one of its bells - a 10.4 ton bell referred to as dakong lingganay (big bell) made from 70 sacks of melted coins donated by the congregation. It is the biggest bell in Asia. The inscription on the bell reads: "Soy la voz de Dios, I am the voice of God which I shall echo and praise from one end of the town of Panay to the other, so that the faithful followers of Christ may come to this house of God to receive heavenly graces." 

Pan-ay is a short 15 minute drive from Roxas City. You can hail a cab or tricycle to take you there and wait for you until you're ready to go back to Roxas.

*****

Images by Charie


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was

Filipino Struggles in History - Carlos Botong Francisco

In 1968, Antonio Villegas (then Mayor of Manila), commissioned Carlos "Botong" Francisco to paint the history of Manila for Manila City Hall. The series of large scale paintings was called  Kasaysayan ng Maynila  (History of Manila).  The paintings deteriorated over time and no attempt was made to preserve these historical canvases until 2013 when Mayor Amado Lim sent them to the National Museum for extensive restoration. Four years later, in 2017, Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and the Manila City Council signed an agreement with the National Museum to leave the paintings at the museum so they may reach a larger audience in exchange for museum grade reproductions to replace the originals. Kasaysayan ng Maynila was later renamed Filipino Struggles in History and is now on display at the Senate Hall of the National Museum . Carlos "Botong" Francisco died in March 1969, a few months after completing the paintings. He is one of the first Filipino modernists and

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the