Skip to main content

Destinations

Iceland

Africa

Egypt

Asia

Cambodia

HongKong

Indonesia

Japan

Malaysia

Philippines

Singapore

South Korea

Thailand

Australia/Oceania

Brisbane

Gold Coast

Sydney

Canada

Montreal

Niagara-on-the-Lake

Quebec

Toronto

Vancouver

Victoria 

Europe

Austria

Belgium

Croatia

Czechia

Denmark

England

Finland

France

Germany

Gibraltar

Greece

Hungary

Iceland

Ireland

Italy

Luxembourg 

Monaco

Netherlands

Norway

Portugal

San Marino

Slovenia

Spain

Sweden

Switzerland

Vatican

Philippines

Aklan

Antique

Batangas

Bohol

Capiz

Cavite

Cebu

Iloilo

Guimaras

Negros Occidental

Makati

Palawan

Philippine Art Museums

Shopping

South/Central America & Mexico

Argentina

Mexico

U.S.A.

Alaska

Arizona

California

Colorado

District of Columbia 

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Iowa

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota 

Nevada

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Puerto Rico

Utah

U.S. Museums

Virginia

Washington

*****

Image by TravelswithCharie

 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Filipino Struggles in History - Carlos "Botong" Francisco

In 1968, Antonio Villegas (then Mayor of Manila), commissioned Carlos "Botong" Francisco to paint the history of Manila for Manila City Hall. The series of large scale paintings was called  Kasaysayan ng Maynila  (History of Manila).  The paintings deteriorated over time and no attempt was made to preserve these historical canvases until 2013 when Mayor Amado Lim sent them to the National Museum for extensive restoration. Four years later, in 2017, Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and the Manila City Council signed an agreement with the National Museum to leave the paintings at the museum so they may reach a larger audience in exchange for museum grade reproductions to replace the originals. Kasaysayan ng Maynila was later renamed Filipino Struggles in History and is now on display at the Senate Hall of the National Museum . Carlos "Botong" Francisco died in March 1969, a few months after completing the paintings. He is one of the first Filipino modernists and

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-Colonial Period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the