Skip to main content

Europe

Ponte Vecchio, Firenze
Albania

Austria
Innsbruck

Belgium
Antwerp
Bruges
Brussels
Ghent
The Guild Houses on the Grand Place

Bosnia/Herzegovina
Republic of Srpska

Bulgaria
Veliko Tarnovo

Czechia
Cesky Krumlov

Croatia
Hamlet and Helsingør

England
British Museum
London
Windsor Castle

Estonia
Bayonne
Biarritz
Chartres
Fountainebleu
Giverny
Lyon - Dinner at Paul Bocuse
Marc Chagall Museum in Nice
Marseille
Rheims
Rouen - in the footsteps of Monet
Rue Crémieux
Sainte Marguerite Island

Germany
Bonn
Cologne 2024

Gibraltar

Greece
Athens

Hungary

Italy

Kosovo

Latvia

Liechtenstein 
Schaan
Vaduz

Lithuania

Luxembourg

Moldova
Chișinău 2026
Gagauzia Autonomous Region
  Komrat
Milestii Mici Winery

Monaco

Montenegro

Netherlands

North Macedonia

Norway
Edvard Munch
Oslo

Poland

Portugal

Romania
Biertan Fortified Church


San Marino

Serbia

Slovakia

Slovenia

Spain
Imagenes del España
Lazaro Galdiano Museum
Madrid Basics
Lund
Malmö
Stockholm Revisited 2024
Trees and Treerooms

Switzerland

Transnistria (Pridnestrovian Moldavian Republic)

Türkiye 
Istanbul
Istanbul in Asia

Ukraine

Vatican City

*  *  *

Image by TravelswithCharie



Popular posts from this blog

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was...

Brașov was once called Stalin City

White Tower Brașov is a city nestled in the Carpathian Mountains in Transylvania. Remnants of its medieval fortifications and bastions are added attractions to this buzzing city. The White Tower along with the Black Tower are two of the remaining watchtowers still visible today. During the Communist period,  Brașov  was called Orasul Stalin or Stalin City after the Soviet leader, Joseph Stalin. Black Church This is such a storied Gothic church which was originally the Catholic Church of St. Mary before it was converted to a Lutheran Church. It was believed to have been affected by fire in 1689 which blackened its exterior walls and roof. But a new 21st century study reveals that this wasn’t the case at all. The only reason for its blackened state according to the study is environmental pollution caused by the industrialization of Brasov in the 19th century. The walls have since been cleaned but there are traces of black spots on the roof.  Republicii Street This long pede...

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the ...