Skip to main content

Scenes from Strasbourg

 

Maison des Ponts Couverts, Strasbourg, France
Maison des Ponts Couverts
If you’re looking for Instagrammable locations in France, look no further. From the half-timbered houses in La Petite France to cobble stone streets around Cathedral Square to the bridges over the meandering river, you’d be hard pressed to find a better subject than Strasbourg. It is one of the most romantic cities in Europe. Every year around Valentine’s Day, Strasbourg mon amour celebrates of romance. Concerts, cultural events and food festivals are scheduled for the pleasure of all lovers.

Strasbourg is also the seat of the European Parliament, the European Court of Human Rights and the Council of Europe. It is the “chief” city in the Alsace region.

The best time to visit is in springtime when flowers are in bloom and the days are sunny but not too warm.

La Petite France, Strasbourg, France
La Petite France
Notice how the beams are arranged in these half timbered houses. The dark yellow house in the foreground has a V design on the upper floor and a diagonal design on the lower floor with a simple straight beam in the center. 
 
La Petite France
Au Pont St. Martin is a restaurant named after the bridge beside it. The front wall that’s covered in trailing vine has a diagonal beam design. 

La Petite France
Notice the beam design in the lower terrace is in the form of an X which is the symbol of the Cross of St. Andrew.

This house has various beam design elements. On the second and third floors (center), we see the diamond shaped beams with a cross over it. Between the windows are tall, vertical and slanting beams known as Mann. Notice also the carved corner post or the Poteau Cornier. These designs are rich in symbolism: the Mann represents virility and physical force, the X exemplifies fertility or abundance and the diamond shape embodies motherhood and femininity. There’s much to learn about half timbered houses.

Barrage Vauban (Vauban Dam) over the Ill River

Barrage Vauban, Strasbourg, France
Barrage Vauban at night

Ill River flows through La Petite France

Ill River
The Ill River divides Strasbourg and surrounds the Grande Île on which the old town is situated. The Grande Île is a UNESCO World Heritage site.

Maison Kammerzell, Strasbourg, France
Maison Kammerzell
This house was originally owned by a cheese merchant named Martin Braun who acquired it in 1571 and renovated it in 1589. 

The ornate façade of this medieval house has religious and Greco Roman influences. Maison Kammerzell houses both a hotel and restaurant.

Place de la Cathedrale, Strasbourg, France
Place de La Cathédrale
Your table awaits you!

Notre Dame de Strasbourg Cathedral, Strasbourg, France
Cathédrale Notre Dame de Strasbourg
The original Cathedral was built in the 11th century. It was ravaged by fire over the centuries and sustained substantial damages during the Franco-Prussian War and World War II. While the original church was made in the Romanesque style, subsequent restorations created the Gothic style church we see today. It is made of red Vosges sandstone. The tower rises to 142 meters (465 ft., 10.5 in.) and was the tallest building in Europe until the 19th century.

Main Portal of Notre Dame de Strasbourg

Detail from Notre Dame de Strasbourg

There’s bound to be a restaurant for your particular craving. 
 
How to get to Strasbourg:
By TGV from Paris, Gare de l’Est. The trip takes under two hours. To purchase tickets online: www.sncf.com

Strasbourg-Ville train station
Where to stay:
Ibis Styles is a short walk from the train station and from La Petite France. There are many restaurants in the vicinity and a grocery store.
14 Rue Maire Kuss
www.accor.com

Where to eat:
Chan Chira, La Table Thailandaise
2 rue des Moulins
Generous servings. Attentive service. Quiet and restful ambience.

*****

Images by TravelswithCharie


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Filipino Struggles in History - Carlos Botong Francisco

In 1968, Antonio Villegas (then Mayor of Manila), commissioned Carlos "Botong" Francisco to paint the history of Manila for Manila City Hall. The series of large scale paintings was called  Kasaysayan ng Maynila  (History of Manila).  The paintings deteriorated over time and no attempt was made to preserve these historical canvases until 2013 when Mayor Amado Lim sent them to the National Museum for extensive restoration. Four years later, in 2017, Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and the Manila City Council signed an agreement with the National Museum to leave the paintings at the museum so they may reach a larger audience in exchange for museum grade reproductions to replace the originals. Kasaysayan ng Maynila was later renamed Filipino Struggles in History and is now on display at the Senate Hall of the National Museum . Carlos "Botong" Francisco died in March 1969, a few months after completing the paintings. He is one of the first Filipino modernists and

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the