Skip to main content

The curious life and times of Vlad Dracula

Bran Castle, Dracula’s Castle, Romania
Bran Castle or Dracula’s Castle
The most popular touristic destination in Romania is undoubtedly Bran Castle, more commonly known as Dracula’s Castle. Dracula is a work of fiction by a 19th century Irish novelist named Bram Stoker who had never been to Romania, let alone to Dracula’s Castle. Yet, Dracula haunts many of us so much so that we follow the pilgrims’ path to Transylvania to be where this fictional character supposedly lived and bit his victims to drink their blood.

Fiction aside, the family of the real Dracula lived in the picturesque hilltop town of Sighisoara, under the shadow of the 14th century clock tower. Find out more about Sighisoara here: https://www.travelswithcharie.com/2023/08/sighisoara-medieval-town.html

Vlad Dracul, the father of Vlad III, the Impaler, also known as Vlad Țepeş (and perhaps the inspiration behind the novel, Dracula) supposedly lived in this yellow house from 1431-1435. (There are studies that point otherwise.) Vlad Dracul was so called because he was a member of the Order of the Dragon (dracul). It is assumed that Vlad III was born in this same house. As the son of Vlad Dracul, Vlad III is addressed as Vlad Dracula which means son of Dracul.

This plaque says “In this house lived between 1431-1435, the Romanian ruler, Vlad Dracul, son of Mircea cel Bătrin.” Mircea is therefore the grandfather of Vlad III.
Family tree of Vlad III (Vlad Țepeş)
Mircea cel Bătrin
Vlad Dracul had 5 children (and several brothers which I will not enumerate here)
  1. Mircea III
  2. Vlad Dracula III (Vlad Țepeş)
      - Minhea cel Rău
  3. Radu III the Fair
  4. Vlad IV the Monk* 
       - Radu IV
         ° Mircea the Shepherd
  5. Alexandra of Wallachia
*Mary of Teck, later Queen Consort of King George V of the United Kingdom and daughter of Francis, Duke of Teck, descended from the line of Vlad IV through her great maternal grandmother, Baroness Ágnes Inczedy de Nagy Várad, who is a descendant of Mircea the Shepherd, grandson of Vlad IV. Mary of Teck is also the grandmother of Queen Elizabeth II.

Vlad Dracula III, Vlad Tepes, Romania
A bust of Vlad III in Sighisoara
Vlad III and his brother, Radu, were left by their father as hostages in the court of the Ottoman Sultan Murad II to convince the Sultan of his loyalty and that he would follow Ottoman rule. When Vlad III returned to Wallachia and became Voivode (military governor), he turned against the Ottoman invaders and stomped their aggression, going as far as impaling his enemies and displaying them in public spaces for everyone to see and to deter any further incursions. This is how he earned the name Vlad the Impaler or țepeş in Romanian.

Princely Court, Targoviste, Romania
The ruins of the Princely Court in Târgovişte
The Voivode of Wallachia lived in the Princely Court in Târgovişte including Mircea cel Bătrin and Vlad III. The names of the governors who stayed here are inscribed at the gate. Târgovişte is 50 miles northwest of Bucharest and may be reached by train.

These names are some of the Voivode who held court in Targovişte. Vlad Tepeş (Vlad III) was Voivode three times between 1448 and 1476.

The ruins hint at the magnificence and size of the princely court.

The grounds and fortifications.

Chindia Tower, Targoviste, Romania
Chindia Tower
Chindia Tower was important to this complex so they could observe the approach of their enemies. Nowadays, one can take the winding stairs up the tower for a view of the entire city. There are 100+ steps to climb. There’s a small entry fee to the ruins of the Princely Court.

The Great Princely Church

Curtea Veche (Old Princely Court), Bucharest
The Curtea Veche was one of the residences of Vlad Țepeş in Romania. This was his summer residence. It is currently closed for restoration. I took these pictures through a gap in the screen that surrounds the old princely court.  
Address: Str. Franceză 23, Old Town

Curtea Veche
Mircea cel Bătrin was behind the building of both the Curtea Veche and the neighboring Annunciation Church of St. Anthony in 1559.

Annunciation Church of St. Anthony, Bucharest

Poenari Citadel**
High above the Transfăgărăşan Highway in Transylvania are the ruins of Vlad Tepeş’ third residence, Poenari Citadel. He didn’t live here but this was his sanctuary. It would have been difficult for his enemies to make a surprise attack here as they would have to climb up the mountain to reach his castle. There are 1400+ steps for modern day invaders to take to reach the ruins which is closed to the public at the moment. This photo was taken by Diana Popescu and licensed under Share Alike 3.0, Romania. You can find this image and license in Wikipedia Commons by clicking this link: **https://commons.m.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Cetatea_Poenari_2.jpg

Snagov Church
Snagov Church and Monastery was enlarged by Vlad Țepeş during his reign. He also built a fortification around this property and a prison behind the Church. 

The iconostasis of the Church and the image of Vlad Țepeş on the floor below.

It is said that Vlad Țepeş wanted to be buried in Snagov and while it is believed to be his gravesite, his remains were not found here. Nevertheless, people flock to this beautiful medieval church located on an islet on Lake Snagov, outside of Bucharest, to see the supposed burial site of Vlad Țepeş who was killed by an Ottoman patrol  around December 1476 and January 1477. His birth, birthplace and death remains shrouded in mystery and intrigue. Just like the legend.

While Vlad Țepeș is viewed as a cruel and brutal ruler because of his method of killing his enemies by impalement, he is also seen by historians as an important historical figure for his role in defending Wallachia from the incursions of the Ottoman Empire, protecting Romanian lands as well as stopping the infighting among the boyar (war lords). He is a national hero of Romania.

Where to eat in Targovişte:
Alexo Reastaurant, Calea Domneasca 179
pizzaalexo.ro
This restaurant is next door to the Princely Court. It has a terrace with pavilions surrounded by a garden so diners can ask to sit in their own pavilion. There is also indoor seating for cooler months. They have a big menu so there are lots of choices for the hungry traveler.


******

Images by TravelswithCharie except where specifically indicated.



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was

Filipino Struggles in History - Carlos Botong Francisco

In 1968, Antonio Villegas (then Mayor of Manila), commissioned Carlos "Botong" Francisco to paint the history of Manila for Manila City Hall. The series of large scale paintings was called  Kasaysayan ng Maynila  (History of Manila).  The paintings deteriorated over time and no attempt was made to preserve these historical canvases until 2013 when Mayor Amado Lim sent them to the National Museum for extensive restoration. Four years later, in 2017, Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and the Manila City Council signed an agreement with the National Museum to leave the paintings at the museum so they may reach a larger audience in exchange for museum grade reproductions to replace the originals. Kasaysayan ng Maynila was later renamed Filipino Struggles in History and is now on display at the Senate Hall of the National Museum . Carlos "Botong" Francisco died in March 1969, a few months after completing the paintings. He is one of the first Filipino modernists and

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the