Skip to main content

Brașov was once called Stalin City

While Tower, Brașov, Brasov, Romania
White Tower
Brașov is a city nestled in the Carpathian Mountains in Transylvania. Remnants of its medieval fortifications and bastions are added attractions to this buzzing city. The White Tower along with the Black Tower are two of the remaining watchtowers still visible today.

During the Communist period, Brașov was called Orasul Stalin or Stalin City after the Soviet leader, Joseph Stalin.

Black Church, Brașov, Brasov, Romania
Black Church
This is such a storied Gothic church which was originally the Catholic Church of St. Mary before it was converted to a Lutheran Church. It was believed to have been affected by fire in 1689 which blackened its exterior walls and roof. But a new 21st century study reveals that this wasn’t the case at all. The only reason for its blackened state according to the study is environmental pollution caused by the industrialization of Brasov in the 19th century. The walls have since been cleaned but there are traces of black spots on the roof. 

Republicii Street, Brașov, Brasov, Romania
Republicii Street
This long pedestrian street extends from Council Square to Eroilor Boulevard, a distance of almost half a mile. There are so many terrace cafés and restaurants to choose from that deciding where to eat will not be an easy task.

Casa Sfatului (former Council House)
The Council House which dates back to the 15th century is now the Brasov County Museum of History. 

Strada Muresnilor
One of the busiest streets in Brasov, it runs through the heart of the city.

Piața Sfatului (Council Square)
During my second visit in September, this square was alive with people strolling and hanging out with friends and family at the outdoor cafés and ice cream shops.

Tampa Hill and Brasov sign
There’s a cable car that goes up to Tampa Hill which has one of the best panoramic views of Brasov.

Rope Lady, Rope Street, Brașov, Brasov, Romania
Rope Lady
The Rope Lady points toward Rope Street.

Rope Street, Brașov, Brasov, Romania
Strada Sforii (Narrowest street)
This isn’t just an ordinary alley. It was used by firefighters with their water hoses to pass quickly through the neighborhood in case of fire.

Strada Sforii (Rope Street)

St. Catherine's Gate (Poarta Ecaterinei)
St. Catherine’s Gate is the only surviving medieval gate in Brasov. It was made by the Tailor’s Guild in 1559 as part of the defensive fortification surrounding Brasov. The four turrets signify the town’s judicial autonomy and its right to impose capital punishment.

Schei Gate (Poarta Schei)
This is an early 19th century gate built to allow more traffic into the city.

A Whimsical Vignette

Canola field
The sight of yellow fields is one of the delights of driving around Transylvania in May.

How to get there:  
I was on a private two-day tour with Nicolas Experience Tours. It beats a ten-hour day trip from Bucharest to Brasov, Bran Castle and back. You can find out more about the various tours offered by Nicolas Experience Tours in Romania, Bulgaria, Moldova and Ukraine here:

If you prefer to visit on your own, there are trains and buses that go to Brasov. Check for options


Images by TravelswithCharie 



Popular posts from this blog

Filipino Struggles in History - Carlos Botong Francisco

In 1968, Antonio Villegas (then Mayor of Manila), commissioned Carlos "Botong" Francisco to paint the history of Manila for Manila City Hall. The series of large scale paintings was called  Kasaysayan ng Maynila  (History of Manila).  The paintings deteriorated over time and no attempt was made to preserve these historical canvases until 2013 when Mayor Amado Lim sent them to the National Museum for extensive restoration. Four years later, in 2017, Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and the Manila City Council signed an agreement with the National Museum to leave the paintings at the museum so they may reach a larger audience in exchange for museum grade reproductions to replace the originals. Kasaysayan ng Maynila was later renamed Filipino Struggles in History and is now on display at the Senate Hall of the National Museum . Carlos "Botong" Francisco died in March 1969, a few months after completing the paintings. He is one of the first Filipino modernists and

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the