Skip to main content

Artistic Icons Define Buenos Aires

Obelisco

The Obelisco on Avenida 9 de Julio (9th of July Avenue) has been the symbol of Buenos Aires since 1936 when it was built to commemorate the 400th anniversary of the founding of the  city. (The 9th of July is the independence day of Argentina.) In the new millenium, two important architectural works were donated to the city and have become the defining icons of modern Buenos Aires.

Floralis Genérica

One of these, the Floralis Genérica, is a steel and aluminum floral sculpture designed and donated by local architect, Eduardo Catalano. The petals open in the morning and close at sunset except on certain days of the year when it remains open all day long. The Floralis is in the Palermo neighborhood on Plaza Naciones Unidas at Avenida Figueroa Alcorta, next door to the public law school which is an architectural destination on its own with its imposing neoclassical façade.

 Puente de la Mujer

The whitewashed Puente de la Mujer (Woman's Bridge)  soars over Dock 3 in the revitalized district of Puerto Madero. The architect, Santiago Calatrava, drew his inspiration from the tango. The single mast suggests the fluidity of a couple dancing. Viewed from different directions, the cables trailing down from the mast remind me of a harp. Dance and music are complementary. Which is why I find this footbridge so lyrical.

*  *  *

Images by TravelswihCharie

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was

Filipino Struggles in History - Carlos Botong Francisco

In 1968, Antonio Villegas (then Mayor of Manila), commissioned Carlos "Botong" Francisco to paint the history of Manila for Manila City Hall. The series of large scale paintings was called  Kasaysayan ng Maynila  (History of Manila).  The paintings deteriorated over time and no attempt was made to preserve these historical canvases until 2013 when Mayor Amado Lim sent them to the National Museum for extensive restoration. Four years later, in 2017, Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and the Manila City Council signed an agreement with the National Museum to leave the paintings at the museum so they may reach a larger audience in exchange for museum grade reproductions to replace the originals. Kasaysayan ng Maynila was later renamed Filipino Struggles in History and is now on display at the Senate Hall of the National Museum . Carlos "Botong" Francisco died in March 1969, a few months after completing the paintings. He is one of the first Filipino modernists and

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the