Skip to main content

5 Fun Things to Do in Pan-ay, Capiz

1. Visit Santa Monica Parish Church, a National Historical Landmark.
2. Try "puso", a specialty of Holy Grounds Coffee Shop located in front of the Church.
3. Go to Buntod Beach which has a commanding view of Olotayan Island.
4. Visit a heritage house, Balay ni Nanay Lording, and try their choriwich with thick hot chocolate.
5. Order pica-pica at Dante's Taberna on Friday and Saturday nights then dance the night away.



   Santa Monica Church

The original church in Pan-ay was first established in 1774. A little over a century later, in 1875, a typhoon devastated that structure. It was reconstructed in 1884 and that is the church we see today. It is a fine example of the colonial Baroque style of architecture. Its walls are made of coral stones and are three meters thick (about 9.84 feet). Renovations have been made in recent years to the roof and belfry which have suffered from termites and the ravages of time. In 2013, the Church was once again devastated by the super typhoon, Yolanda. It has since been repaired.

Santa Monica Parish Church has been declared a National Historical Landmark by the National Historical Commission of the Philippines.

For more on Santa Monica Church, follow this link: https://travelswithcharie.blogspot.com/2015/05/santa-monica-parish-church.html

    Puso na malagkit 

The puso is a variety of ibus which is a blend of glutinous rice, coconut milk and dash of salt. It's wrapped in woven palm leaf and steamed. What gives it that distinct flavor is the addition of tuba (coconut wine) to the mixture. 

Holy Grounds Coffee Shop. In front of the Cathedral. 

    View of Olotayan Island from Buntod Beach

Looking for sand, sea and searenity? Head over to Buntod Beach which has the reputation of being jellyfish free all year round. The sea in this photo was rough due to the amihan (wind). Buntod has a lovely long stretch of sand perfect for a leisurely walk.

Olotayan Island and its sandy shores have remained under the radar, thanks to its secluded location. There are motorized outriggers that go to the island from Banica Pier. The trip takes about 45 minutes.

The beach is in Pawa, a short drive from the center of town. 

    Balay ni Nanay Lording

The rich cultural heritage of Capiz is best appreciated through objets d'art and family mementos at Balay ni Nanay Lording. Note the niche on the wall with religious statues. Altars are a main feature in the old homes of Capiz. The well preserved "tapi" floor, the beautiful aparador (cabinet) and saya (traditional Philippine dress) are reminders of a refined lifestyle. 

A treat awaits visitors after the tour -- a hot demitasse of tablea de metate (thick chocolate) with choriwich (pandesal chorizo sandwich). 

Calle Revolucion, Poblacion Ilawod.

    Dante's Taberna

Try the duck adobo at Dante's Taberna while listening to music of the 70's and 80's. Then let Santana songs guide you to the dance floor. It's fun, fun, fun!

Poblacion Tabuc. Near Santa Monica Church.

*****

Images by TravelswithCharie


Popular posts from this blog

Brașov was once called Stalin City

White Tower Brașov is a city nestled in the Carpathian Mountains in Transylvania. Remnants of its medieval fortifications and bastions are added attractions to this buzzing city. The White Tower along with the Black Tower are two of the remaining watchtowers still visible today. During the Communist period,  Brașov  was called Orasul Stalin or Stalin City after the Soviet leader, Joseph Stalin. Black Church This is such a storied Gothic church which was originally the Catholic Church of St. Mary before it was converted to a Lutheran Church. It was believed to have been affected by fire in 1689 which blackened its exterior walls and roof. But a new 21st century study reveals that this wasn’t the case at all. The only reason for its blackened state according to the study is environmental pollution caused by the industrialization of Brasov in the 19th century. The walls have since been cleaned but there are traces of black spots on the roof.  Republicii Street This long pede...

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was...

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the ...