Skip to main content

The Three Queens

    View of Cebu City from the Marco Polo Hotel

The introduction of daily flights between Cebu and Roxas City is a winner! Cebu, the Queen City of the South, has so much to offer its visitors - historical landmarks, museums, beaches, fine dining, lively nightlife, retail therapy options and a calendar full of cultural events. And it's a short flight away, just under thirty minutes.. 

    Sirao Garden

"The earth laughs in flowers." Ralph Waldo Emerson 

These colorful celosia flowers are the staple of the garden. Dubbed Little Amsterdam, the garden reminds one of the tulip fields in the Netherlands. There's also a token windmill and Cinderella's carriage. And as it was approaching Valentine's Day, there were decorative hearts around the garden.  It had been raining quite a bit in January so there were empty patches where gardeners were busy preparing the flowerbeds for planting.

There's a P30 fee to enter the garden. Seniors get a discount.
Barangay Sirao, Cebu

    Yap-San Diego House

The Yap-San Diego house in the Parian neighborhood is one of the oldest houses in Cebu. It dates back to the late 17th century. The façade is decorated with red lanterns for the Chinese New Year celebration.

155 Lopez Jaena Street
Parian District, Cebu City

    Temple of Leah

Some women inspire poetry. Others, love songs. Helen of Troy launched a thousand ships when she was abducted. Queen Leah Adarna has a Roman inspired temple dedicated to her from her adoring husband, Teodorico. 

    Leah V. Albino Adarna

"Leah V. Albino Adarna was chosen Matron Queen of her Alma Mater, the University of Southern Philippines. This nine-foot bronze statue portrays her composure and regal bearing when she was crowned. May the beholder discern her innate beauty, poise and genteelness." Teodorico Soriano Adarna

There is an entrance fee to the temple. Seniors enter free of charge. In Barangay Busay, Cebu.

   The Cross of Magellan

At the baptism of Rajah Humabon and his queen, Hara Humaway (or Hara Amihan) in 1521, a cross was erected by the expedition crew of Magellan to commemorate the event. Very little is known about Humaway except for a brief description written by Antonio Pigafetta who was the chronicler of the expedition and survived to tell the story. Humaway was given the name Juana at baptism after a queen of Spain. Queen Juana of Cebu was young and beautiful and wore a large hat made of palm leaves. She was shown a cross and a wooden statue of our Lady holding her child. She begged to keep the "wooden boy" to replace her idols.* It was later found in one of the homes in the village by the crew of Miguel Lopez de Legazpi who arrived in the Philippines in 1565. It is now in the Basilica Minore del Santo Niño, a few steps from where the Cross of Magellan now stands. 

* Source: The First Voyage Round the World - Pigafetta's Account of Magellan's Voyage. By Antonio Pigafetta. Translated by Lord Stanley of Alderley. 
Read also Who was Hara Humaway, the Queen of Cebu by Ligaya Caballes. 

Where to stay:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel
Cebu Veterans Drive
Nivel Hills, Cebu

Where to eat:
Café Laguna 
The Terraces, Level 1
Ayala Center, Cebu City

Kayu Restaurant
32 Sanson Road, Lahug

How to get around:
Mark Bocog 
We were happy with how Mark took good care of us during our day tour of Cebu. When it started to rain, Mark brought us umbrellas while we were visiting the Taoist temple. He also made sure we saw as  much of the city as possible and guided us through the historical landmarks and patiently waited for us while we shopped for souvenirs. Mark was a careful driver especially as it was raining and we were driving up the hills.

Grab Car - the hotel can call Grab to arrange for car service.


Images by TravelswithCharie


Popular posts from this blog

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the

Filipino Struggles in History - Carlos Botong Francisco

In 1968, Antonio Villegas (then Mayor of Manila), commissioned Carlos "Botong" Francisco to paint the history of Manila for Manila City Hall. The series of large scale paintings was called  Kasaysayan ng Maynila  (History of Manila).  The paintings deteriorated over time and no attempt was made to preserve these historical canvases until 2013 when Mayor Amado Lim sent them to the National Museum for extensive restoration. Four years later, in 2017, Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and the Manila City Council signed an agreement with the National Museum to leave the paintings at the museum so they may reach a larger audience in exchange for museum grade reproductions to replace the originals. Kasaysayan ng Maynila was later renamed Filipino Struggles in History and is now on display at the Senate Hall of the National Museum . Carlos "Botong" Francisco died in March 1969, a few months after completing the paintings. He is one of the first Filipino modernists and