Skip to main content

Arashiyama Bamboo Forest

Hozu/Oi River
Arashiyama has the distinction as being both a Historic Site and Place of Scenic Beauty. It shares its name with the mountain that creates a lovely setting to this popular destination. Sakura or cherry blossoms in the spring, the red and golden colors of autumn leaves and snow on the slopes of Arashiyama in winter enhance the beauty of the landscape through the changing seasons. 

Bamboo Forest
The Bamboo Forest is one of the main attractions in Arashiyama. Walking along its trails lined with soaring bamboo stalks can be a magical experience especially when light streams through the dense bamboo foliage. These bamboos are harvested at maturity and used to make various products like boxes and utensils.

Nonomiya Shrine
The Nonomiya Shrine inside the grove is an intimate space. Surrounded by the bamboo grove, it is conducive to meditation. But only for a brief moment. It can get crowded in the forest. 

Togetsu-kyo Bridge
The Hozu River flows to Arashiyama from the mountains near Kameoka northwest of Kyoto and then becomes the Oi River as it continues its journey to Arashiyama until it reaches Togetsu-kyo Bridge where it is renamed Katsura River. Confusing? You bet! This iconic bridge which is also called Moon Crossing Bridge, has been part of the local culture for 400 years. It was reconstructed in 1934 after centuries of wear and concrete columns now reinforce the bridge. Only the parapet is made of wood. Togetsukyo reminds me of the paintings and prints of bridges by Hiroshige in the mid 19th century.

Tributary of the Katsura River
To get to Arashiyama, take the Hankyu train from Osaka Umeda Station bound for Kawaramachi and transfer at Katsura Station to the local train bound for ArashiyamaArashiyama is only 7 minutes from Katsura. The one way fare is 400 yen. From the train station in Arashiyama, walk to the river and cross the iconic Togetsu-kyo Bridge to the city center. Follow the signs to the Bamboo Forest. Schedule your visit on a weekday and either early in the morning or late afternoon to avoid the crowds. It’s difficult to enjoy a walk in the woods when the trail is full of people taking selfies. There is no entrance fee to the Bamboo Forest.

*****

Images by TravelswithCharie


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the

Filipino Struggles in History - Carlos Botong Francisco

In 1968, Antonio Villegas (then Mayor of Manila), commissioned Carlos "Botong" Francisco to paint the history of Manila for Manila City Hall. The series of large scale paintings was called  Kasaysayan ng Maynila  (History of Manila).  The paintings deteriorated over time and no attempt was made to preserve these historical canvases until 2013 when Mayor Amado Lim sent them to the National Museum for extensive restoration. Four years later, in 2017, Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and the Manila City Council signed an agreement with the National Museum to leave the paintings at the museum so they may reach a larger audience in exchange for museum grade reproductions to replace the originals. Kasaysayan ng Maynila was later renamed Filipino Struggles in History and is now on display at the Senate Hall of the National Museum . Carlos "Botong" Francisco died in March 1969, a few months after completing the paintings. He is one of the first Filipino modernists and