Skip to main content

Circle Island Tour


We started our circle island tour in Sigma, Capiz where we gave school supplies (through BalayniCharie Foundation) to the children at Doña Fructuosa Elem School.

Our Lady of the Snows, Dumarao, Capiz
Our Lady of the Snows
From Sigma, it was less than an hour's drive to Dumarao where we visited the pink church of Our Lady of the Snows. Dumarao is the last town in Capiz before reaching the border between Capiz and Iloilo.

Santa Barbara convent 
The historical church and convent of Santa Barbara in Iloilo is worth a stop to see the beautifully preserved convent with its original wooden floor and wrap-around balcony. 

St. Anne's Church
Our first stop the following day was at Molo Church or St. Anne's Church which is dedicated to 16 female saints. Their statues adorn the pillars that lead up to the altar. 

Miagao Church
Miagao Church is one of four Baroque churches designated as UNESCO World Heritage site under the collective title "Baroque churches of the Philippines". It dates back to the 18th century and was a fortress church as the town defended itself repeatedly from Muslim encroachment. Notice the tropically inspired bas reliefs on the façade of the church. 

Antique
We entered Antique from the south of the province passing through the town of Hamtic and across many of its old bridges built during the American occupation. 

Culasi, Antique
We were just in time to watch the sunset in Culasi, Antique. Culasi is the jumping off point for the famous Mararison Island. 

Kalibo, Aklan
We reached Kalibo, Aklan by nightfall. It was the Christmas season and the town was all decked out with colorful lights and holiday finery. 

Metropolitan Cathedral, Roxas City
Then the rain poured heavily as we drove home to Roxas City in Capiz. Some of the places we passed had collected heavy amounts of rainfall and our compact car waded through flooded roads. What a relief it was to be back home after a harrowing drive!

*****

Images by TravelswithCharie 


Popular posts from this blog

Brașov was once called Stalin City

White Tower Brașov is a city nestled in the Carpathian Mountains in Transylvania. Remnants of its medieval fortifications and bastions are added attractions to this buzzing city. The White Tower along with the Black Tower are two of the remaining watchtowers still visible today. During the Communist period,  Brașov  was called Orasul Stalin or Stalin City after the Soviet leader, Joseph Stalin. Black Church This is such a storied Gothic church which was originally the Catholic Church of St. Mary before it was converted to a Lutheran Church. It was believed to have been affected by fire in 1689 which blackened its exterior walls and roof. But a new 21st century study reveals that this wasn’t the case at all. The only reason for its blackened state according to the study is environmental pollution caused by the industrialization of Brasov in the 19th century. The walls have since been cleaned but there are traces of black spots on the roof.  Republicii Street This long pede...

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was...

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the ...