Skip to main content

A homeless Jesus sleeps on a bench at Christ Church Cathedral


Christ Church Cathedral
Christ Church Cathedral or the Cathedral of the Holy Trinity is the oldest cathedral in Dublin. Founded around 1030 by the Hiberno-Norse, it has welcomed worshippers for nearly a millennium. It it is the mother church of the Church of Ireland United Dioceses of Dublin and Glendalough. The roof, the south nave and west walls collapsed in 1562. It was extensively rebuilt in the 1870s with Victorian Gothic features. 



Nave
The central nave is framed by pointed arched walls on which sit stained glass windows. It's simple and uncluttered design leads the eye to the choir screen and the chancel beyond. Notice the leaning wall on the left which inclines by 18 inches. The tomb of Strongbow, the leader of the Anglo-Normans who captured Dublin in 1170, is on the right nave. 

Tiled Floor
Detail of the beautiful tiles that cover the Cathedral floor. There are well preserved medieval tiles in the Chapel of St. Laud which are the models of the tile flooring throughout the Cathedral. 

Crypt
The medieval crypt (c. 1172-1173) is the largest crypt in either Britain or Ireland and the oldest structure in Dublin. At 63 meters long, it runs the length of the church. The stone pillars support both the Cathedral and central tower. The crypt was restored in 2000. There are historical articles on display in the crypt as well as a café and gift shop.

Homeless Jesus
This poignant sculpture of a homeless Jesus lying on a bench on the grounds of the Cathedral is by Timothy Schmalz. The Archbishop of Dublin at the dedication and blessing of this sculpture referred to the scripture passage which says, "The Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head."

There is an entrance fee of 6€ for adults and 2€ for children. Check the Cathedral website for updated info on opening hours and guided tours. www.christchurchdublin.ie. The Cathedral is served by buses (dublinbus.ie) and is stop 11 of the Dublin Sightseeing bus tour (dublinsightseeing.ie)

*****

Images by TravelswithCharie


Popular posts from this blog

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was

Filipino Struggles in History - Carlos Botong Francisco

In 1968, Antonio Villegas (then Mayor of Manila), commissioned Carlos "Botong" Francisco to paint the history of Manila for Manila City Hall. The series of large scale paintings was called  Kasaysayan ng Maynila  (History of Manila).  The paintings deteriorated over time and no attempt was made to preserve these historical canvases until 2013 when Mayor Amado Lim sent them to the National Museum for extensive restoration. Four years later, in 2017, Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and the Manila City Council signed an agreement with the National Museum to leave the paintings at the museum so they may reach a larger audience in exchange for museum grade reproductions to replace the originals. Kasaysayan ng Maynila was later renamed Filipino Struggles in History and is now on display at the Senate Hall of the National Museum . Carlos "Botong" Francisco died in March 1969, a few months after completing the paintings. He is one of the first Filipino modernists and