Skip to main content

Surprising Nuremberg

"Nuremberg shines throughout Germany like a sun among the moon and stars." Martin Luther

Half timbered houses in the Alstadt
On January 2, 1945, the British Royal Air Force and the U.S. Air Force flew over Nürnberg (Nuremberg) leveling nearly 90% of the Alstadt (Old Town). What was once one of the most important cities of the Holy Roman Empire was turned to rubble. Hitler's rallying ground during World War II was effectively stamped out though it took until April 1945 to weed out German resistance during the house-to-house campaign. 

After the war Nuremberg was rebuilt from the ground up using the same stones that were the foundation of the old structures. What we see today is a faithful reconstruction of Nuremberg's glorious past. In the image above, restored half-timbered houses dot the Alstadt.

Saint Lorenz Church
Construction of St. Lorenz Church began in the 13th century and was completed in 1477. It became a Lutheran church during the Reformation. The current church was heavily damaged during WWII but it was painstakingly restored to its former glory. The front façade is made of brick with two green copper spires, a rose window, and an arched door. Buttresses support the Gothic structure on both sides. Unfortunately,  I wasn't able to view the interior because when I came back from walking around the old town, there was a group of protesters in front of the main portal.



Heilig Geist Spital
The Heilig Geist Spital was a former hospital for the sick and elderly. It now houses a restaurant. It makes a pretty picture with the Pegnitz river running underneath the building.

Schöner Brunnen
The Schöner Brunnen (beautiful fountain) was erected between 1385-1396. It looks like a church steeple decorated with gilt and statues representing the world view of the Holy Roman Empire. In the background is the Frauenkirche, a Catholic church from the 14th century.

Frauenkirche and Hauptmarkt
The Hauptmarkt has been around since the Middle Ages. These days it is open Mondays through Saturdays and among its offerings are fruits and produce, flowers and plants, bread and cake, cheese and meats. This is also the venue for the annual Christmas Market. There are outdoor cafés to sit and soak in the scene. 

The Frauenkirche (Church of our Lady) is a brick, Gothic church commissioned by Charles IV, the Holy Roman Emperor from 1352-1362. His son, Wenceslas, was baptized here in 1361. This Church has a mechanical clock or Männleinlaufen that is activated at noon and the figures of the Electors parade around the Holy Roman Emperor below the clock on the front façade in commemoration of the Golden Bull of 1356. The Golden Bull established the constitutional framework of the Holy Roman Empire for 400 years.

Albrecht Dürer House
Albrecht Dürer, the foremost German Renaissance artist, lived in this house from 1509 until his death in 1528.  Dürer's works include paintings, engravings, woodcuts, and altarpieces. He was also a prolific writer. Among his best known works are the Four Apostles, the engraving of  Adam and Eve, the Apocalypse woodcuts and his three self-portraits.

Street corner statues
An engaging feature of Nuremberg are these statues found on various corners in the old town. Some of the figures are of saints and the Virgin Mary with the Child Jesus. Some statues are gilded or painted such as the example above.

Handwerkerhof of Nuremberg
Nuremberg is a two hour train ride from Munich using the local train. A one way ticket is 20€. There are ICE trains that cover the distance in just an hour but the fare is triple the price Alternatively, Flixbus makes the journey to Nuremberg in 2 hours from the bus terminal off of Arnulfstrasse, a short walk from the Hauptbahnhof. Flixbus drops off passengers across from the train station in Nuremberg. The bus has a restroom.

The tourist information center in Nuremberg is inside the walled city, right by the Frauentorturm which can be reached from the train station using the underpass. You can get a map and help with directions at this office. There are also postcards and souvenir items for sale here at reasonable prices.

*****

Images by TravelswithCharie



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the

Filipino Struggles in History - Carlos Botong Francisco

In 1968, Antonio Villegas (then Mayor of Manila), commissioned Carlos "Botong" Francisco to paint the history of Manila for Manila City Hall. The series of large scale paintings was called  Kasaysayan ng Maynila  (History of Manila).  The paintings deteriorated over time and no attempt was made to preserve these historical canvases until 2013 when Mayor Amado Lim sent them to the National Museum for extensive restoration. Four years later, in 2017, Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and the Manila City Council signed an agreement with the National Museum to leave the paintings at the museum so they may reach a larger audience in exchange for museum grade reproductions to replace the originals. Kasaysayan ng Maynila was later renamed Filipino Struggles in History and is now on display at the Senate Hall of the National Museum . Carlos "Botong" Francisco died in March 1969, a few months after completing the paintings. He is one of the first Filipino modernists and