Skip to main content

Salzburg's Chic Store Signs

    Wieber

The Getreidegasse in Salzburg is an elegant street lined with boutiques, passages and restaurants. There are no gaudy shop signs to be seen here. Instead, there are beautifully crafted wrought iron signage announcing the name of the store and what it sells. In the photo above, Wieber has a key hanging from the beak of a gilded bird. This is a metalwork and locksmithery shop that's been around since 1415. They do keys, yes, but they also do a full range of custom made street lamps, guild signs, railing, etc. and restoration of old metal works. 

Behind Weiber is the kaleidoscopic sign of Aschauer Hüte, a store selling hats and traditional Austrian garments.

    Zara

Zara is one of the most popular clothing stores in Europe. Notice the scissors, an important tool for sewing. 

    Stassny

The dancing couple in diandl and lederhosen proclaim the goods sold at Stassny. Traditional Austrian costumes and accessories are the specialties of this boutique.

    Kirchtag

Not only do they sell umbrellas at Kirchtag, they also have leather goods and luggage. They can custom design an umbrella at their workshop behind the store. Kirchtag has been around since 1903.

    McDonald's

What an ornate sign this fast food retailer has! The gilded M has never been this refined, surrounded by a wreath, a royal symbol (no less) and a lion on hind legs holding up a piece of paper and leaning with his left leg on the graceful back of the bird. I'm lovin' it.

    Salamander

Salamander is a well recognized shoe store, hence the golden boot. They also sell bags and accessories. The company was first registered in 1904 in Germany and today has outlets in Austria, France, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Russia.

    Mozart's birthplace

Amadeus Mozart was born on Getreidegasse 9, on the same street as the stores and restaurant mentioned here. "A good neighbor is a very desirable thing." Thomas Jefferson

*****

Images by TravelswithCharie 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the

Filipino Struggles in History - Carlos Botong Francisco

In 1968, Antonio Villegas (then Mayor of Manila), commissioned Carlos "Botong" Francisco to paint the history of Manila for Manila City Hall. The series of large scale paintings was called  Kasaysayan ng Maynila  (History of Manila).  The paintings deteriorated over time and no attempt was made to preserve these historical canvases until 2013 when Mayor Amado Lim sent them to the National Museum for extensive restoration. Four years later, in 2017, Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and the Manila City Council signed an agreement with the National Museum to leave the paintings at the museum so they may reach a larger audience in exchange for museum grade reproductions to replace the originals. Kasaysayan ng Maynila was later renamed Filipino Struggles in History and is now on display at the Senate Hall of the National Museum . Carlos "Botong" Francisco died in March 1969, a few months after completing the paintings. He is one of the first Filipino modernists and