Skip to main content

The Enchanting Islands of Concepcion

sandbar
Bulobadiangan Island
The Concepcion group of islands is located east of Panay Island in the Visayan Sea. These 17 islands are part of the Municipality of Concepcion in the province of Iloilo. 

The sandbar on Bulobadiangan Island stretches across the sea toward Igbon Island. These islands have so far escaped the throng of sun worshippers. It was our only stop during our visit because Agho Island which is known for its white sand beach, was closed to visitors at the time and no one at the Tourism office knew when it would reopen. There is a P25 entrance fee per person to get off at Bulobadiangan and we had to bring our own food which one of the residents prepared for us for a P150 cooking fee. Cold drinks are available on the island.

Danao Island
Danao Island with its white sand beach looks inviting from the shores of Bulobadiangan. 

Sugarloaf mountain
Pan de Azucar
The peak of Mount Manaphag or Sugarloaf Mountain towers over Pan de Azucar Island and can be seen from the mainland. Pan de Azucar is the largest island in the group. Mountain climbing enthusiasts will find the steep slopes of one of the tallest mountains in Panay both challenging and exhilarating.

Map of Concepcion Islands


How to get there:
From Roxas City to Sara, Iloilo
Take a Ceres bus or Public Utility Van (PUV) from the Punta Dulog Terminal to Sara then transfer to a jeepney bound for Concepcion port. This is a 2-hour trip. You can also hire a private van from Roxas City for the entire day. Call or send text message to Butterfly Tours at 0910-006-2742.

From Iloilo City to Sara: Take the Ceres bus from Tagbak Terminal in Jaro for the 2-hour trip to Concepcion. At Sara, take a jeepney to the port of Concepcion.

Hiring a boat for island hopping: 
The Tourism office can assist you in hiring a boat for island hopping. There is a P30 tourism ecological fee per person. The pumpboat costs approximately P2,500.00 for one island stop. Additional stops costs P500.00 each. Contact Concepcion Tourism office at 0917-590-0499.

We hired a boat from Pan de Azucar Hotel located on the port. Our spacious boat waited for us at the island until we were ready to go back to port. We paid P2,500.00 for four passengers in March 2018. Check with the hotel for current prices at 0917-100-5871.

Cottage rental fee: P400.00

Always check with providers for current rates.

*****

Images by TravelswithCharie

Popular posts from this blog

Brașov was once called Stalin City

White Tower Brașov is a city nestled in the Carpathian Mountains in Transylvania. Remnants of its medieval fortifications and bastions are added attractions to this buzzing city. The White Tower along with the Black Tower are two of the remaining watchtowers still visible today. During the Communist period,  Brașov  was called Orasul Stalin or Stalin City after the Soviet leader, Joseph Stalin. Black Church This is such a storied Gothic church which was originally the Catholic Church of St. Mary before it was converted to a Lutheran Church. It was believed to have been affected by fire in 1689 which blackened its exterior walls and roof. But a new 21st century study reveals that this wasn’t the case at all. The only reason for its blackened state according to the study is environmental pollution caused by the industrialization of Brasov in the 19th century. The walls have since been cleaned but there are traces of black spots on the roof.  Republicii Street This long pede...

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was...

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the ...