Skip to main content

Seoul Traditions

The Gyeongbokgung Palace complex covers a staggering 4.4 million square feet. There are over 330 hundred structures in the compound and to see everything properly will require at least a couple of visits. The National Folk Museum of Korea is also within the palace grounds and its displays of historical domestic and agricultural artifacts are worth a visit. 

Heungnyemun Gate is one of three entrances to Gyeongbok Palace. Gyeongbok was the main residence of the Joseon Dynasty from the 14th century until it was razed by fire in the 16th century and left abandoned for more than two and a half centuries. It was reconstructed in 1867 only to be demolished during the Japanese occupation and the Korean War. A 40-year restoration project of the palace was initiated in 1989 by the government. 

Geunjeongjeon is the Imperial Throne Room and one of a handful structures that survived from the 19th century. Geunjeongjeon means “diligence helps governance”. Behind the throne is a screen painted with the sun, the moon and a five-peaked mountain all of which represent “the king’s divine position in relation to the order of the universe”. Coronation ceremonies were held in this hall as well as meetings and receptions with foreign dignitaries.

The ceiling in the throne room is elaborately painted in bright colors.

Gyotaejeon Hall is the Queen’s living quarters. The king and queen had separate quarters within the palace complex.

Roof finials or japsang in the shape of animals are not merely decorative, they also serve to ward off evil spirits.

Alley between buildings in the Gyeongbokgung Palace complex.

The hanbok is the traditional Korean costume worn for festive and celebratory occasions. It dates back to the Joseon dynasty period, 1392-1910. It consists of a jeogori (blouse) and colorful chima (skirt). Your entrance fee to the palace is waived if you wear a hanbok. Seniors 65 and above also enter the palace for free.

Changing of the guard at Deoksugung Palace is a must see for the explosion of bright colors worn by the guards, the vibrant marching in front of the palace gate, the flag waving, the cast of characters and it’s all for free.

A typical hanok dwelling with wooden floors and an open plan allowing air to circulate, keeping the house cool during warm summer months.

Hanok interior with water jar and kitchen utensils.

Kitchen

Read about traditional Korean cuisine here:
https://www.travelswithcharie.com/2016/07/seoul-food.html

How to get to Gyeonbokgung:
Subway M or Subway Line 3, Gyeongbokgung exit 5 at Gyeongbokgung Station
Seoul City Tour Bus B

Deoksugung:
Subway Line 1 or 2, City Hall Station, Exit 1, 2 or 3.

*Seoul Traditions is a late post.

*****

Images by TravelswithCharie

Popular posts from this blog

8 Heritage Houses of Iloilo

Lizares Mansion The province of Iloilo on the island of Panay has a rich trove of heritage houses, left over from the sugar industry boom in the 19th century. Iloilo also had the largest port in the Philippines at that time which facilitated the export of sugar to foreign shores and deposited money in the hands of the sugar barons. The barons dropped their earnings into the acquisition of properties in Negros and the construction of beautiful homes in Iloilo, many of which are located in the vicinity of the Jaro Cathedral. The Lizares Mansion was built in 1937 by Don Emiliano Lizares for his wife, Concepcion Gamboa and five children. The family fled to safety when World War II broke out and the house was occupied by the Japanese military. The family returned to the house after the war but left once again after the demise of Don Emiliano. It was sold to the Dominican order in the 1960s and was converted in 1978 to a private school, Angelicum School. The mansion now houses the

Filipino Struggles in History - Carlos Botong Francisco

In 1968, Antonio Villegas (then Mayor of Manila), commissioned Carlos "Botong" Francisco to paint the history of Manila for Manila City Hall. The series of large scale paintings was called  Kasaysayan ng Maynila  (History of Manila).  The paintings deteriorated over time and no attempt was made to preserve these historical canvases until 2013 when Mayor Amado Lim sent them to the National Museum for extensive restoration. Four years later, in 2017, Mayor Joseph Ejercito Estrada and the Manila City Council signed an agreement with the National Museum to leave the paintings at the museum so they may reach a larger audience in exchange for museum grade reproductions to replace the originals. Kasaysayan ng Maynila was later renamed Filipino Struggles in History and is now on display at the Senate Hall of the National Museum . Carlos "Botong" Francisco died in March 1969, a few months after completing the paintings. He is one of the first Filipino modernists and

The Art of Carlos Botong Francisco - Progress of Medicine in the Philippines

Pre-colonial period Pag-unlad ng Panggagamot sa Pilipinas (The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines) is a group of four large-scale paintings depicting healing practices in the Philippines from pre-colonial times to the modern period. Carlos Botong Francisco was commissioned in 1953 by  Dr. Agerico Sison who was then the director of Philippine General Hospital (PGH) together with   Dr. Eduardo Quisumbing of the National Museum, Dr. Florentino Herrera, Jr. and Dr. Constantino Manahan. These oil on canvas paintings measure 2.92 meters in height and 2.76 meters in width (9.71 ft x 8.92 ft) and were displayed at the main entrance hall of PGH for over five decades. Owing to its location, the artworks were in a state of "severe deterioration" at the beginning of the 21st century from exposure to heat, humidity, dirt, dust, smoke, insect stains, grime, termites and an oxidized synthetic resin used in an earlier restoration. These canvases were restored three times, the last was